Associative Trail #4 My Inquiry Proposal: Augmented Reality provided by Social Assistive Robots integrated with Kindergarten Classroom Storytelling Activities

Because I am a lurker in this course, I do not have access to academic databases licensed for enrolled students.  This being the case, I relied on Google Scholar Indexed Articles to scope out peer-reviewed literature on research topics hoping to find fulltext open educational resources.  Current eNews reports that Google Scholar is transforming the library and can act as a reliable supplement to university library systems.    Another scholarly paper looks at Google Scholar index coverage for webscale discovery and finds GS has estimated 99.3 million English Language papers and in total there are about 114 million papers on the web where web is defined as Google Scholar (GS) + Microsoft Academic Search (MAS).  For my lurker purpose, roughly 24% of papers are free online.  A few comparable systems and the sizes of indexes also highlighted in the paper include Pubmed – 20-30 million – the go to source for medical and life sciences area; and Scopus – 53 million  – mostly articles/conference proceedings but now include some book and book chapters. This is one of the biggest traditional library Academic databases, it’s main competitor Web of Science is roughly at the same level but with more historical data , fewer titles indexed.

I think that Google Scholar Index realizes the vision of Nelson’s “new collateral structure” of hyperlinked sources.  My own Google Scholar Search Alert limited to newer than 2010 yielded an authoritative list of current peer-reviewed resources on my Inquiry Topic: “augmented reality” +robot + interactive +storytelling +preschool +kindergarten.  A few articles were freely accessible, but I was fortunate enough to visit a local university library and be granted a guest pass to access Scopus Library Database.  Articles representing various subtopics included ethical issues related to robotic supervision of young children in group settings; technical issues with curriculum integration of socially assistive robotic tools; instructional staff adoption and training issues; end-user programming to facilitate human-centered design; and related robot companion applications used in social interaction therapies for special needs students.  My webscale discovery enabled by a hyperlinked article index yielded robust results and credible sources.

gs2

To further test Nelson’s Hyperlinked Vision, I attempted to find other open educational resources in Academic LibGuides and expanded my own vision to Computer Science Interdisciplinary Resource Guides.  One in particular Computer Science Internet Resource Guide created by the University of Houston Libraries linked two highly relevant article indexes: CiteSeerX and IEEE Explore.  These indexes include abstracts and keywords that I could begin to feel I had a good sample of facets related to my topic.  Again, this bibliographic metadata is evidence to me of Nelson’s Dream Visualized.  I plan to create my own inquiry project tag cloud using word rankings in “pearl citation” article abstracts from my working bibliography.

robot tags1

As this point in my discovery process, I felt I had sufficient number of high quality peer-reviewed sources to read and take notes for my inquiry project covering both the promises and problems with using socially assistive robots to augment storytelling curriculum activities in kindergarten classrooms.  A wide range of stakeholders were included in the research papers: students, teachers, classroom assistants, special needs, and educational technology vendors.  A specific focus on a particular human-robot socially assistive technology helped to narrow the inquiry project to a reasonable and constructive topic related to augmented reality tools used in education.

Leave a Reply

