Reflection #3 Current Inquiry Project – Augmented Kindergarten Storytelling

I started my Inquiry Project reflecting about the whether digital tools introduce distractions that interfere with attention essential to cognitive learning when new media is used in class.  A Pew Internet Study reports that teachers think this issue is true based on their teaching experience.

pew4

 http://www.pewinternet.org/2013/02/28/part-iii-bringing-technology-into-the-classroom/

Inquiry Bib9 Community of Inquiry

Thinking about my online presence in Vector Spaces, I found a review of the Community of Inquiry Framework that identifies issues with three types of presence in the augmented classroom: social presence, cognitive presence, and teaching presence. http://onlinelearningconsortium.org/jaln/v11n1/online-community-inquiry-review-social-cognitive-and-teaching-presence-issues  The first issue is about shifting social presence from socio-emotional support to a focus on group cohesion (from personal to purposeful relationships). The second issue concerns the progressive development of cognitive presence (inquiry) from exploration to resolution. That is, moving discussion beyond the exploration phase. The third issue has to do with how we conceive of teaching presence (design, facilitation, direct instruction). More specifically, is there an important distinction between facilitation and direct instruction?  Because I teach online, Teaching Presence is a topic of great interest to me.

Trying to make connections to current course readings, Bootstrapping Innovation is one topic that I would like to explore further and wonder if a methodology could be followed to reflect about my online presence in this Vector Spaces course.  Feeling that the topic of how New Media Distractions impact online Communities of Inquiry was too broad, I opted to browse Diigo metadata for student examples of more narrow inquiry topics.  I discovered the concept of Augmented Realty in several student topics but did not see any inquiry relating AR to online learning presence.

Bootstrapping Innovation

Because I am an open participant in this course, my academic journal go to resource is Google Scholar.  I previously tried the following two Search Alerts:

[ “media multitasking” attention distraction social cognitive presence -driver -pain ];

[ metacognition “community of inquiry” “social presence” ];

When I added Augmented Reality and discovered robot projectors used for kindergarten storytelling and dramatic play, I knew I had a narrow topic that would push me out of my comfort zone of proximal difficulty so that I would learn something new.  I completed advanced study in Early Childhood Education Pre-Internet but curate apps in Early Childhood on Pinterest for a wide range of mobile devices.

Here is the final Google Scholar Alert I created for my Inquiry Project

[ cognitive preschool OR kindergarten “augmented reality” robot projector ]

One study concluded that the robot, as a delivering medium, did a better job than a computer when it came to helping children concentrate on the media and technology, peak their interests and understand the roles of the media.

I added a few Google Scholar articles to Diigo Vector Space Group and plan to find related new media adding tags: technology, education, children. https://groups.diigo.com/group/thought_vectors006/search?what=technology+education+children

When I was a Kindergarten Teaching Assistant at the U of C Lab School over 30 years ago, I was supervised by a Master Teacher with over 30 years experience at the time.  Needless to say, the Kindergarten was traditional with learning areas optimized for dramatic play and constructive activities.  It was a far cry from the structured learning programs in most current Kindergarten classrooms.  My assistant teaching role was to read class fairy tales to the class.  I then worked with small groups to retell the story what the young children remembered by their drawing pictures and my taking dictation in their own words.  Lastly, the student authors were asked to choose a few friends to dramatize their class fairy tale remix for the entire class.  The Master Teacher ended the session with a few critical thinking questions about the student’s story.

So if a robot projector does a better job than a computer augmenting kindergarten storytelling, how does teaching presence compare to a live teaching assistant facilitating digital storytelling?

Could a tech-savvy Master Kindergarten Teacher increase social, cognitive, and/or teaching presence with an “augmented reality” robot projector?  Could the Kindergarten Teaching Assistant Role be simulated as suggested by the “pearl citation”

Storytelling by a kindergarten social assistive robot: A tool for constructive learning in preschool education http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S036013151300225X

In any case, this narrow Google Scholar Search has me thinking about Teaching Presence and What is this thing called ‘digital identity’?

Inquiry Bib7 Digital Identity  I plan to address the question about how my classic experience with the Kindergarten Teaching Assistant Role changes with the successful introduction  of an “augmented reality” robot projector used for dramatic play and storytelling activities?  I think that that the narrative is essential regardless of the new media format.  Scripting and storyboarding are online activities I currently teach in my online courses as the working copy for information literacy tutorials, virtual meetings, handouts, and case-studies.

Lastly, I will continue to reflect about new media presence as detailed in this chapter:

Media Presence and Inner Presence: The Sense of Presence in Virtual Reality Technologies http://cogprints.org/5965/ 

Presence is widely accepted as the key concept to be considered in any research involving human interaction with Virtual Reality (VR). Since its original description, the concept of presence has developed over the past decade to be considered by many researchers as the essence of any experience in a virtual environment. The VR generating systems comprise two main parts: a technological component and a psychological experience.

And now introducing your early childhood personal educational robot: LikeMeRo

LikeMeRo – a smart doll-shaped robot – for child development and enjoyment from Marina Fridin

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

