Associative Trails#1

My first thought was to create a wordle.net tag cloud image from the article text  “As we may think”.  Wordle is a toy for generating “word clouds” from text that you provide.  I copied and pasted the text of the whole article. The clouds give greater prominence to words that appear more frequently in the source text.  From this tag cloud, I was struck by the prominence of the words “one record”.  This led me to think about “one search” across interoperable integrated platforms (AKA Google Search).   I conceptualized the primary source as text that could be ordered by frequency in the source text.  Wordle is a simple tool but is based on the one principle of Google algorithms that the computer processes and formulas that take your questions and turn them into answers. Today Google’s algorithms rely on more than 200 unique signals or “clues” that make it possible to guess what you might really be looking for. These signals include things like the terms on websites, but go well beyond text word ranking to evaluate the freshness of content, your region and PageRank.

Here are my Breadcrumbs from Search History  to illustrate my associative trails and categorize my disciplinary focus: Library and Information Science -Hyperlinked Cataloging and Classification:

VB association activity2  (Sorry this screenshot is such poor quality).

Here are links in my associative trail:

  1. 4:50 PM
  2. 4:47 PM
  3. 4:45 PM
  4. 4:44 PM
  5. 4:43 PM
  6. 4:43 PM
  7. I found the primary source full-text document on the Journal Title: The Atlantic.  My Google Search was < vannevar bush “as we may think” memex> which narrowed results to 36,000.  Following the premise of 30 lines: Most Internet users find information through search engines. And most search engine users don’t have much patience. In fact, over 90% of users give up after the first three pages of results — after 30 headlines, they’ve either already clicked on something, or they revise their search, I selected my breadcrumbs from the first three pages of Google Search Results.  The Engelbart Institute seemed credible and the Englebart Report: Augmenting Human Intellect is often compared to the Vannevar article. The Youtube Memex Animation met my goal of including multimedia.  The slate article revisited the original text and provided a current thought-provoking reflection to continue the conversation about the original content.  My end goal was to find the controlled vocabulary  of descriptive subject headings provided by WorldCat subject expert about a wide range of related resources in multiple formats.  I wanted to compare human intelligence to Google computer algorithms to generate descriptive data about primary sources.
One thought on “Associative Trails#1

  1. I really liked this post, a lot of creative thinking on your part which really made me think about the connection between our thinking leading us on our way much like a search engine attempts to recreate. I can only imagine how complicated the google algorithm is and it probably hardly compares to the full-fledged power of the human mind.

Leave a Reply

